Multi-User: Getting Started and Setting Permissions

Multi-User will allow you to have multiple users in your account allowing you to set various permissions for what the users can do and see in your 17hats account and linked accounts.  Multi-User is available on all Unlimited plan accounts plus any grandfathered bi-yearly, yearly or monthly plans. Multi-User is not available for Lite or Basic accounts. There is a limit of 5 users for each account, (including the account owner), in the future you will be able to add additional users at $5.00 per month per user. The ideal user is someone that has 2 or more employees/contractors. 

Getting Started

If you have linked accounts setup you can add different users and different permissions for each of those linked accounts.  After you log in through the main login and password, select which of your linked accounts you want to work with and any users you add will be added to that linked account only. If admins or users have permissions for multiple linked accounts, they will have to choose the account they want to work in as soon as they login.



To set up users please go to my account, account settings, and click on users:



When you click on the Users button you will see the following screen, (or similar for your account). As the owner you see your login as owner and any users that are added as Admins or Team Members already added, you can add new users here, (please note there is currently a 5 user limit including the account owner):



There are 3 different levels of permissions in 17hats Multi-user:

Owner-This level can create Admin accounts and Member accounts and has access to all data.  The owner can add and delete Admin accounts, (which have all permissions), and add, change and delete Member accounts.  Please note that the owner is the owner of all accounts linked under their master account, (paying account).

Admin-This level can create and delete Admin accounts and create, change and delete Member accounts and permissions in the account they have Admin Status, this user cannot make changes to any business settings or changes to the Owner account.

Team Member-This level can use all permissions granted to them by the Admin or Owner level accounts.

To add a new user log into the account you want to add the user to, (you have to be the account owner or an admin in that account to add new users). Click on add user and this is what you'll see:



To add an ADMIN add their name and email address, and click on the arrow to select the role of Admin, then click add. If you're adding an Admin you'll see 'Invite Pending' next to the name of the user you just added in the list of users.  There are no permission choices for ADMIN, they will have access to everything in that account except business settings and Owner settings:



The user will receive an email with a link on it, they click on the link, they add their password and their Admin account is setup. If the email address is used for another 17hats account, it won't ask for the password, it will use the existing password for that email address.

If you are adding a TEAM MEMBER, click on 'Add User', add their name and email address email address, and click on the arrow to select the role of 'Team Member' and you'll see the following screen:



You would check off the permissions you want this user to have, then click ADD and it will show on the users list with Invite Pending next to their name. The Team Member would receive an email with a link, (just like a new ADMIN would), they click on the link which takes them to 17hats, add their password and click to set up their Team Member account.  If the email address is used for another 17hats account, it won't ask for the password, it will use the existing password for that email address.

Setting Team Member Permissions

There are different areas of permissions that can be set for each team member.

Account Settings

If 'Templates' is checked the team member can add, edit or delete any template in 'My Templates' in My Account.

If 'Products' is checked the team member can add, edit or delete any products listed under 'Products' in My Account.

If 'Time Tracking' is checked the team member can start a timer on a project, and choose a rate.  The user cannot add, edit, or delete any rates or edit settings for the timers, only owners and admins can do this.

If 'Emails' is checked the team member can add, edit or delete any email accounts for inbound syncing emails, add, edit or delete any outbound SMTP accounts, and add edit or delete any email signatures.  Please note that these email settings are only for use when this Team Member is logged in, they cannot change, edit or delete any email settings for owners, admins or other team members.

Contacts/Projects

If contacts/projects is checked off the team member can see basic contact and project information.  If nothing else is checked under contact/projects the team member would not be able to see any contracts, invoices, quotes or emails associated with this contact/project.  Also, the 'My Documents' tab will not show on this team members 'Overview Page'.

If 'contract' is checked off the team member can see any contracts in the Contact/Project, and the 'My Documents' tab will show on their overview page, they can see contracts.

If 'Invoices' is checked off the team member can see any invoices in the Contact/Project, and the 'My Documents' tab will show on their overview page, they can see invoices.

If 'Quotes' is checked off the team member can see any quotes in the Contact/Project, and the 'My Documents' tab will show on their overview page, they can see Quotes.

If 'Emails' is checked off the team member can see any emails in the Contact/Project under the Emails tab within the project.

If contracts, invoices, and quotes are not checked off, the documents tab will not show.

Calendars

If 'calendars' IS checked off the user can see all calendars within 17hats owned by any Owner, Admin, or other team member. They can add events to any of these calendars.

If 'calendars' IS NOT checked off the user can only see a default calendar for themselves, they can't see Owner, Admin, or other Team Member calendars.

To-Do's

If 'to-do's' IS checked off the user can see all to-do's within 17hats owned by any Owner, Admin, or other team member. They can add to-do's to any of the to-do lists

If 'to-do's' IS NOT checked off the user can only see a default to-do list for themselves, add new to-do lists for themselves, and edit and delete their own to-do lists.  They can't see Owner, Admin, or other Team Member to-do list or to-do's.

Bookkeeping

If bookkeeping IS checked off the team member can see the bookkeeping tab, they can add, edit and delete transactions in the bookkeeping area. They can run reports within bookkeeping.

If bookkeeping IS NOT checked off the team member cannot see the bookkeeping tab and cannot access any bookkeeping information.

Notes
Only owner and Admin will have access to creating Lead Capture Forms. Any user can see questionnaires, no restrictions on this.

KeyWordSearch: Multi-User, Multiuser, Multi User, Owner, Admin, Team Member, permissions






Feedback and Knowledge Base